top of page

Communication

Communication is such an important and critical topic of Family Relations. We all do it, we all do it in so many different ways, and one thing I think that is most important, is that we all interpret communication differently. This can make it difficult to relay properly and effectively our wants, needs, and desires, our anger and frustrations, or even our love and kindness.


There are only three main channels in which we communicate. Sounds simple, right? At first I thought so too, until this. Only 14 percent of our communication is done through words or verbal communication! 14 is such a low number to me because I feel like we are constantly stressing about saying the right words and exactly what we are going to say. 45 percent of our communication comes from tone. This means that if say you are lying, it is not a secret because if you don't mean what you are saying, then it might easily come across through your tone. With the most percentage, 51 percent of communication is non-verbal. This means facial expressions, actions, etc. We have all heard how actions speak louder than words, and I think that with this research we can tell that is very true.


I know that by learning more about how we communicate, we can better communicate. There is so much information out there and the more we know the better. We can strengthen our relationships through communicating kindly and properly.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Divorce & Remarriage

First, Divorce. Well, I hop that would have to be a last resort but in this post let's talk about this before remarriage. Since marriage...

Parenting

I talk about this almost every post I feel like, but The Family: A Proclamation to the World is a guide that is given to us about...

Fathers & Finances

I have talked a few times in my blog about The Family: A proclamation to the world. It talks about how a fathers role is to preside,...

Comments


bottom of page